The 4 Stages of the Ladybug Life Cycle

The 4 Stages of the Ladybug Life Cycle

Other names for ladybugs include lady beetles, ladybug beetles, and ladybird beetles. No matter what you call them, these beetles are members of the family Coccinellidae. Ladybugs undergo a four-stage life cycle known as complete metamorphosis. Embryonic Stage (Eggs) A ladybug’s life cycle begins with an egg. When a female ladybug mates, she lays five … Read more

What Do Caterpillars Eat?

What Do Caterpillars Eat

Caterpillars eat plants to feed themselves. Larvae of certain butterflies and moths feed almost exclusively on plants. Most caterpillars munch happily on leaves, though some eat other plant parts, like seeds and flowers. Generalist Feeders vs. Specialist Feeders Generalists are the caterpillars that feed on leaves, twigs and fruits while specialists feed only on one … Read more

Simple Columnar Epithelia: Types, Functions, & Examples

Simple columnar epithelia

Simple columnar epithelia are tissues made of a single layer of long epithelial cells that are often seen in regions where absorption and secretion are important features. The cells of this epithelium are arranged in a neat row with the nuclei at the same level, near the basal end. In a cross-section of the organ, these cells appear like thin … Read more

Types of Sensory Receptors: Classification by Stimulus

types of sensory receptors

Sensory receptors are primarily classified as chemoreceptors, thermoreceptors, mechanoreceptors, or photoreceptors. LEARNING OBJECTIVES Differentiate among the types of stimuli to which receptors respond KEY TAKEAWAYS Key Points Chemoreceptors detect the presence of chemicals. Thermoreceptors detect changes in temperature. Mechanoreceptors detect mechanical forces. Photoreceptors detect light during vision. More specific examples of sensory receptors are baroreceptors, … Read more